Tuesday, March 12, 2019

41st Marchand Open March 16 & 17, 2019

The 41st Annual Marchand Open was held in downtown Rochester, NY at the Strong Museum of Play on March 16-17, 2019. Fortunately, there was not too much snow for participants travelling from far-away locations, but it was a cold weekend. This year's Marchand had a record-breaking 177 players including a large contingent from Canada! In the OPEN Section, GM Alexander Fishbein and GM Bryan Smith tied for first place. Our NYS Champion, Lev Paciorkowski, will be posting games and analysis in the near future.  Thank you to all the participants and spectators who attended the tournament.  Due to construction at the Strong Museum of Play, next year's Marchand will be held at a different location in Rochester.

The Chess Center hopes to see you again next year for the 42nd Annual Marchand Open.  

GM Alexander Fishbein (left) and Jason Liang
Round 3 - March 16th, 2019

GM Bryan Smith (left) and GM Alexander Shabalov
Round 4 - March 17th, 2019

Here are the Prize Winners of the 41st Marchand:

OPEN Section
1st place tie: GM Alexander Fishbein, GM Bryan Smith
2nd place tie: GM Alexander Shabalov, Eugene Hua, Daniel He, Matt Prilleltensky, Robert Sulman, Justing Arnold
1st place tie: David Phelps, Terry Luo, Chris Brooks
1st place: Joey Orozco
2nd place: Michael Opaska

U1800 Section
1st place: Ferdinand Supsup
2nd place tie: Chris Darling, Joseph Bello, Justin King, Jon-Paul Dyson, Ben Chernjavsky
1st place tie: Patrick Philips, Vincent Gagliano, Michael McGinnis

1400 Section
1st place tie: Joseph Hall, Erich Snell
3rd place: Jason Liu, Eric Addabbo
1st place: Grant Glor
2nd place: Sebastian Dankner

U1000 Section
1st place tie: Kevin Zou, Sam Lugar, Joseph Orozco
1st place tie: Ryan Shaffer, Ryan Beh, Brandon Norris

Portrait of Dr. Erich Watkinson Marchand displayed at the Rochester Chess Center

The NEXT big Event coming this Spring to Rochester, NY
 will be the Annual CCCR Simultaneous with our
Club Champion Lev Paciorkowski.

1 comment:

  1. It appears that David Phelps was the only CCR member to win a prize. Congrats David.